Gluten Free Guide
Gluten refers to a protein found in wheat, oats, barley and rye; including all of the many and various cousins, hybrids, and manufactured offspring. A person can experience a wide range of reactions to the presence of Glutens. This can be anything from digestive discomfort to Celiac Disease. Celiac disease is a genetic disorder, which triggers the production of antibodies that attack the small intestine, which can also slow, or halt the absorption of vital nutrients. It is not an allergy and should be diagnosed by a physician.
The Good Earth is making this pamphlet available in order to facilitate a clear and easier shopping experience for customers who wish to enjoy a Gluten-free diet or for those who wish to monitor their Gluten intake due to sensitivities. We recommend our sensational seasonally fresh produce section as your first stop.
The FDA has not and is not required to establish parameters for gluten-free labeling in the US until 2008. It is therefore currently an unregulated claim. The Good Earth is including in this pamphlet those manufactures who list their products as “gluten-free” either on the product labels or on the manufacture’s website. Glutens are exceedingly transferable, making instances of cross-contamination highly likely. The Good Earth intends to take the best possible care in delivering information to our customers. Please consult your physician around dietary issues. This pamphlet is not intended as a source for dietary recommendations. There are a large number of advocacy organizations providing information about Gluten Intolerance and Celiac Disease; the Internet is a fabulous resource!
We have attempted to bring in only the highest quality Gluten-free products. In general we try to keep it as organic and sugar free as reasonably possible. If we do not carry a product you would like to see, please fill out a comment card at the register. If you leave us you name and phone number we will call you personally to address your concerns!
For more information please contact:
Celiac Spruce Association www.csaceliacs.org
Celiac Disease Foundation www.celiac.org
University of Maryland’s Center for Celiac Research
Acorn, Almond, Amaranth, Arborio rice, Arrowroot, Artichoke
Basmati rice, Beans, Besan, Black rice, Brewer’s Rice, Brown Rice (and Flour), Buckwheat
Calrose, Canola, Cassava, Channa, Chestnut (and Flour), Chickpea (Garbanzo),
Corn (Flour), Corn malt, Cornmeal, Cornstarch, Cottonseed
Dal, Dasheen Flour, Della Rice
Fava Bean, Flaxseed
Garbonzo, Glutinous Rice, Gram Flour
Japonica Rice, Jasmine Rice, Job’s Tears
Kasha, Koshihikari, Kudzu
Maize, maiz, masa, Manioc, Millet, Milo, Modified Corn Starch, Modified Tapioca Starch
Peanut, Pearl Rice, Popcorn, Popcorn Rice, Potato Flour, Potato Starch Flour Quinoa
Red Rice, Rice (and Flour), Rice Bran, Rice Bran Oil, Rice Hulls, Risotto, Rosematta
Saffron, Sago, Sesame, Sorghum, Milo, Soy, Soybean, Sunflower Seed, Sweet Potato, Sweet Rice Flour
Tapioca, Taro Flour, Tef
Water Chestnut, Wehani Rice, Wild Rice
The following ingredients may contain and/or are processed/extracted with wheat glutens or grain alcohols:
Modified Food Starch
Dry roasted nuts are often dusted with wheat products during processing
Good Earth’s ground flours are processed on shared equipment and therefore are likely to contain trace amounts of glutens.
The Good Earth offers a gluten-free pizza in its deli selection. The flours are not milled at the Good Earth and are prepared on a freshly clean and separate surface from the other pizzas. These pizzas are cooked in the same brick oven as all of our other breads. Please use your discretion according to your own levels of gluten intolerance
Ingredients Containing Glutens
Oats (and Flour)
|Printable Version||E-mail a Friend|